David Easterhoff


David Easterhoff

david easterhoff 1Hometown: Durham
Age: 32
Occupation: Immunologist – currently I am doing academic research focused on developing a HIV vaccine

When did you first start Strength & Conditioningting?
I was introduced to Strength & Conditioning in 2012 by a grad school colleague but did not join a CF gym until 2015 when I came to CFD.

What is your favorite movement? Favorite workout?
My favorite movement is the muscle-up. It’s a movement that doesn’t appear frequently in WODs so it is always a fun change of pace when they are included.

What is your least favorite movement? Least favorite workout?
I hate burpees! I can’t think of another movement that exhausts a person so quickly and leaves you feeling so unaccomplished.

Tell us about your sports & fitness background:
I grew up doing farm work and didn’t have the time or money for sports and fitness. Still physical fitness has always been a passion of mine. At 12yrs old after spending long hours of doing hard physical labor I would go home where I had two cinder blocks and a hockey stick in my bedroom. I would do bicep curls and floorpress, that is until a cinder block slipped off the end of the hockey stick and went through the dry wall. My parents decided to purchase a weightlifting machine for me and there in the basement I would do my own thing on the one piece of equipment that I had along with two J-hooks screwed into the rafters and a pipe for pull-ups. When I left for higher education I used the school gyms and played rec league basketball, volleyball and softball. Everything I know about CF and Weightlifting I have learned from CFD.

How did you first get exposed to Strength & Conditioning? Do you remember your first WOD? How did it go?david easterhoff 2
I did a Bootcamp class with a colleague which consisted of wall balls, sit ups, air squat and lateral jumps. When I came to CFD I don’t remember what my first WOD was but it seemed like almost every WOD had an overhead movement. I became well acquainted with trapezius muscles.

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting Strength & Conditioning? (before/ after)
Pronounced changes have occurred in both strength and flexibility. Before coming to CFD I would spend every last minute lifting weights and then skip stretching. Both static and dynamic stretching from the varied movements have really helped with hip, hamstring and shoulder flexibility. When working out, it was very natural for me to use my arms/hands and quadriceps when moving weight but being taught to engage the glutes and hamstring has been life changing in that it allows me to move more weight with less effort.

What impact has Strength & Conditioning had on your life?
Strength & Conditioning has been a great opportunity to expand my social circle. The camaraderie of Strength & Conditioning is unlike anything one can experience by lifting in a fitness center. Competing against and encouraging your friends and fellow Strength & Conditioningters, even in the most painful WOD, is more fun then standing in the corner by yourself doing bicep curls.

What is your favorite Strength & Conditioning/CFD moment?
There isn’t one singular favorite CFD moment. For me I love the breakthroughs, those times that I accomplished a movement for the first time or found a muscle or motion that makes a movement more fluid. It’s knowing that every day I tried my best and tomorrow I’ll have an opportunity to make it better.

What is your advice for people just getting started or thinking about starting Strength & Conditioning?
My suggestion to those considering Strength & Conditioning is do not be deterred by your lack of physical fitness or Strength & Conditioning prowess. Over time you will learn the Strength & Conditioning movements and all of Strength & Conditioning is scalable to everyone’s fitness level.

What are your hobbies, interests, and/or talents outside of Strength & Conditioning?
These days, apart from being a beer and bourbon connoisseur, I enjoy watching sports (especially football (Go Pack Go!)), woodworking DYI projects, spending time outdoors and explore the Triangle with my wife. Years ago, I rode Grand Prix level dressage horses and it is a hobby I will definitely restart in the future.